Skip to content

Farmers Market Saturday

August 15, 2009

Farmers Market

What a great way to start off  Saturday-  a beautiful country drive to the Farmers Market at Orchardside Yarns in Raphine.

This is a small friendly LOCAL group of folks that enjoy sharing their harvest & smiles. Full range of goodies include fresh baked breads & sweets, garden fresh vegies, local cheese & beef from Mountain View Farm Products in Fairfield VA, fresh pick your own (or buy fresh picked Blackberries from “up on the hill”, antiques & of course YARNS from the yarn shop.

With my garden in full production I was on a mission for fresh free range chicken eggs & local cheeses to complement my harvest.  Mission accomplished: I can almost the omelet with my heirloom tomatoes & my favorite McClure cheese from farm that is just over the hill from my home. I also was able to be there in time this morning for the delightful Mountain Mist – farm style cows milk feta.

ducks at orchardside

After a walk by the stream & a visit with the DUCKS at Orchardside I stopped in to visit the great folks at Wades Mill for Buckwheat Pancake Mix to go with the fresh raspberries from my “raspberry patch”.

If it had not been early in the day I would have loved to have also stopped in to sample the great wine at Rockbridge Vineyard.

Yes – Raphine VA is a great place to visit & to live!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

